I Wonder

“Wait on the Lord” is a constant refrain in the Psalms, and it is a necessary word, for God often keeps us waiting. He is not in such a hurry as we are, and it is not his way to give more light on the future than we need for action in the present, or to guide us more than one step at a time. When in doubt, do nothing, but continue to wait on God. When action is needed, light will come.” ~ J I Packer.

Dear Oscar

I haven’t written for a while but my tardiness as a correspondent in no way reflects a lessening of my support for you. I continue to think about you, and pray for you every day. I wonder if your heart is healing and if the pain of loss is lessening. I wonder if your thoughts are gentler and sleep less elusive. I wonder how you endure the injustices you have been dealt and the desire of others to direct your future. I wonder how you bear the waiting and the uncertainty of what lies before you.


However, I am reassured by the knowledge that you are blessed with the unending love, support and company of your family and true friends. I am also comforted by knowing that you have a strong faith in God, to whom you have turned and in who you put your trust. You know that He is faithful, He is merciful, He is Love and that whilst men believe they control your future, you know that your destiny is in His hands. I pray that your faith in Him remains steadfast and that whatever the waiting brings, secure in His everlasting arms you will find strength and peace.

God bless you Oscar,
Love Heather

“Waiting on God requires the willingness to bear uncertainty, to carry within oneself the unanswered question, lifting the heart to God about it whenever it intrudes upon one’s thoughts.” …”In Him alone lie our security, our confidence, our trust. A spirit of restlessness and resistance can never wait, but one who believes he is loved with an everlasting love, and knows that underneath are the everlasting arms, will find strength and peace.” ~ Elisabeth Elliott.

Leave a Reply

