I’m Still With You: Susanna

Dear Oscar

I have been thinking of the meanings of ” still”.

It can mean “I remain here, at your side. I have been here for a while and I won’t leave”.

It can mean ” deep silence or calm”. Under the noise of the world is the “still small voice”, “the peace that passes all understanding”. 

It can mean ” despite everything”. Maya Angelou wrote a poem called “Still I rise”.

The opening stanza reads

“You may write me down in history
With your bitter, twisted lies,
You may trod me in the very dirt

But still, like dust, I’ll rise.”

The crucifixion was followed by the resurrection, Oscar. This is not the end.

When the heart falters and hope recedes, when our voices join in a cry that extends across the globe, the answer resounds in our souls:

“Be still and know that I am God”.

still and forever
Susanna

Leave a Reply

