You Came Over To Talk To Me

Dear Oscar,

I just wanted to let you know that I’m thinking about you at what must be a really tough time, with the Olympics and Paralympics. Dude I don’t have to tell you that you made a mammoth mistake and now you paying for it. You know and beyond the jail and the public perception of you, you have to live with the memories for the rest of your life. But I have no doubt that you will overcome this unique brand of adversity and come out on the other side and offer something, many things to society in the future. Throughout your life you’ve been doing this and this is your biggest obstacle…

You have always been a hero of mine because of your ‘life may chuck me a curve ball but I’ll freaking own it’ nature but also because years ago our paths crossed and you changed the way I look at a lot of stuff and you helped me through a massively turbulent evening. We were both in the club back line down in Margaret (you were still in school you naughty bastard!) you see I had just started using my wheelchair and I was having a hectic time wondering how the rest of the world viewed me. Particularly as most of the guys and girls were of the younger generation. I was waiting for my mate getting drinks at the bar and you came over to talk to me. (This meant mountains to me because I thought no one could see past my wheelchair.) You said you thought it was cool I was out and about using my wheelchair and not hiding away from the world. You have no clue how much those few words meant to me….

You then said something that scared the living daylights out of me, ‘feel my leg.’ I was like stuff that bro but you told me who you were and showed me your prosthetics. (I had heard of you but you were not a gargantuan celebrity then) along with being massively relieved you didn’t have some sort of disability fetish going on I was blown away you came over to talk to me.

Oscar a few weeks before the fateful night in February 2013 you tweeted ‘I don’t know what 2013 got planned for me, but what I do know is that every time it might knock me down it will find me getting right up.’ Dude I and a lot of the world want to see you shine again, overcome this hurdle. I want to see you become the extraordinary man you were born to be…

Infinite love my friend,

Andy J Marshall

6 thoughts on “You Came Over To Talk To Me

  1. I have so much respect for everyone speaking their mind, with dignity and respect. Those are the people that I admire! Not let life put you down, but stand up with your head high, and accept to become stronger than ever before.

    Like

  2. Blessed morning Andy. I need your contacts and anyone who is willing that we can do something on behalf of Oscar. Please contact or whatsap me at 078 881 8435. God bless you.

    Like

  3. Positively one of the most heartwarming tributes to Oscar. Andy, thank you for lifting up our boy, and may you be blessed many times over. Your words are resonating around FB and elsewhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

